Geert Smits

Register online

Baritone Geert Smits was born in Helden (Netherlands) where he studied with Bernard Kruysen and Margreet Honig. He has won several prizes as in the Walter Gruner Liedcompetition in London (1993), the Placido Domingo Operalia in Madrid (1995), the Belvedere Competition in Vienna (1997). He performed all over the world in the Melbourne Festival 1996, Sao Paolo 2004, Tokio (with the Vienna Philharmonic in 2007), 1996 the Salzburger Festspiele (Oberon under Silvian Cambrelain and Leonore under John Elliot Gardiner), Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam under Riccardo Chailly, Philipp Herreweghe, Ivan Fischer, Roger Norrington, Nicolaus Harnoncourt.

From 1998 until 2004 he sang at the Vienna State Opera: Il Conte in Le Nozze di Figaro, Silvio in I Paggliaci (next to Leo Nucci), Sharpless in Madama Butterfly, Wolfram in Tannhäuser, Gunther in Götterdämmerung etc. Guest performances brought him to Monaco (Faninal), Berlin (Sharpless and Wolfram), Amsterdam (Heerrufer and Fernando in Fidelio), Graz (Faninal), Lyon (Il Conte), Oslo (Wolfram), Hongkong (Wolfram), Jekaterinenburg and Blaibach (Wotan, Rheingold).

Since 2008 Geert Smits has a full professorship at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg. He gave Masterclasses at the Hochschule in Würzburg and together with Margreet Honig in Schloss Weinberg (Austria).

CD Recordings: Heine Songs (1996), Van Eijcken Song (1997), Das Rheingold (2005), 9. Symphonie Beethoven (2012), Brahms-Mahler-Schumann Songs (2013) Symphonie Beethoven (2012), Brahms-Mahler-Schumann Songs (2013)

Logo de Musicalta - Académies et Festival de Musique

Geert Smits

Register online

Le baryton Geert Smits est né à Helden (Pays-Bas) où il a étudié avec Bernard Kruysen et Margreet Honig. Il a remporté plusieurs prix comme au Concours Walter Gruner Lied à Londres (1993), au Placido Domingo Operalia à Madrid (1995), au Concours Belvedere à Vienne (1997). Il s’est produit dans le monde entier au Melbourne Festival 1996, Sao Paolo 2004, Tokio (avec le Vienna Philharmonic en 2007). 1996 le Salzburger Festspiele (Oberon sous Silvian Cambrelain et Leonore sous John Elliot Gardiner), Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam sous la direction de Riccardo Chailly, Philipp Herreweghe, Ivan Fischer, Roger Norrington, Nicolaus Harnoncourt.

De 1998 à 2004, il chante à l’Opéra national de Vienne : Il Conte dans Le Nozze di Figaro, Silvio dans I Paggliaci (à côté de Leo Nucci), Sharpless dans Madama Butterfly, Wolfram dans Tannhäuser, Gunther dans Götterdämmerung etc. Monaco (Faninal), Berlin (Sharpless et Wolfram), Amsterdam (Heerrufer et Fernando in Fidelio), Graz (Faninal), Lyon (Il Conte), Oslo (Wolfram), Hongkong (Wolfram), Jekaterinenburg et Blaibach (Wotan, Rheingold) .

Depuis 2008, Geert Smits est professeur titulaire à la Hochschule für Musik und Theater de Hambourg. Il a donné des Masterclasses à la Hochschule de Würzburg et avec Margreet Honig au Schloss Weinberg (Autriche).

Enregistrements CD : Heine Songs (1996), Van Eijcken Song (1997), Das Rheingold (2005), 9. Symphonie Beethoven (2012), Brahms-Mahler-Schumann Songs (2013)