Gabriel Teclu

Register online

Born in 1976 in Bucharest where he received his first piano lessons at the age of 7 and a half with Veronica Gaspar. From the age of 10 already performs as a soloist, wins several national competitions and even plays with the Romanian National Orchestra in a concert broadcast live on television.

In 1991 he moved to Belgium and continued his studies at the Royal Conservatory of Liège where he successively won the highest distinctions, in the classes of Jo ALFIDI and François THIRY (Piano). He also obtained the grand prix for piano at the International Music Conservatory of Paris (With Colette LASSANCE and Pascal GODART). He also receives advice from Alan WEISS. He follows a high improvement course with Bruno MEZZENA in Pescara (Italy).
Since 2001, he has been invited to perform as a soloist or in chamber music in Belgium (Palais des Beaux-arts Bruxelles and Philharmonique de Liège, Flagey, Festivals de Wallonie, etc.),
Luxembourg, France, Romania, Italy, England … In 2006, he won the 1st prize at the GRETRY competition and the 3rd prize at the International SAN-MARINO competition.

Invited as a soloist at the DURBUY music festival, he distinguished himself in a concert in sharing the stage with Abdel RAHMAN EL BACHA. With his wife, the soprano Andreea Minculescu, they form a duo which gives numerous concerts in Romania, Belgium and France.

In addition to his concerts, he devotes a lot of time to teaching, for which he is truly passionate. He gives Master-classes in Romania and France and during his educational activity he was led to collaborate with François THIRY at the Royal Conservatory of Liège and with Jean-Claude VANDEN EYDEN, Johan SCHMIDT, Mickaël FAERMAN, Dominique CORNIL and Eliane REYES at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels.

Currently he is professor of piano at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels and he teaches also chamber music at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels and Liége.
Since 2010 he has been a member of the jury of the Liège Piano Competition. He participates in different television (RTBF) and radio broadcasts, in particular on Musique3 (Listening table, concert broadcast ….).

He regularly shared the stage as a soloist or in duet with Laurence KOCH, Sebastien WALNIER and Thibault LAVRENOV at the Festival de Stavelot and at Flagey as part of the Festival de Wallonie.

In 2012 he gave the complete studies of Frédéric CHOPIN at the Midi Concerts at the Academic Hall of the University of Liège, of which he is a regular.
In February 2017 he performed as a soloist with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Ploiesti (Romania) in Grieg’s concerto and in July of the same year he was invited to the Festival “Les Musicales Guillaume Lekeu ”in Verviers (Belgium). He punctuates the year with Tchaikovsky’s 1st concerto in a concert around Russian music where he shares the stage of the Aula Magna in Louvain-la-Neuve with OSEL under the direction of Philippe Gérard.

He was invited in 2019 by the Philharmonic Orchestra of Arad (Romania) to perform in the 3rd Concerto for Piano and Orchestra of L.W. Beethoven.

In 2020 and 2021 he performs with success at the Stavelot festival as part of the Festival de Wallonie 2.0 and at the “Beethoven 250th anniversary” festival at the CRB, concerts broadcast by Musiq3.

Logo de Musicalta - Académies et Festival de Musique

Gabriel Teclu

Register online

Né en 1976 à Bucarest où il reçoit ses premières leçons de piano à l’âge de 7 et demi avec Veronica Gaspar. Dès l’âge de 10 ans se produit déjà en soliste, gagne plusieurs concours nationaux et joue même avec l’Orchestre National Roumain dans un concert retransmis en direct à la télévision.

En 1991 il s’établit en Belgique et poursuit ses études au Conservatoire Royal de Liège où il décroche successivement les plus hautes distinctions, dans les classes de Jo ALFIDI et François THIRY (Piano). Il obtient aussi le grand prix de piano au conservatoire International de musique de Paris (Avec Colette LASSANCE et Pascal GODART). Il reçoit par ailleurs les conseils de Alan WEISS. Il suit un cours de haut perfectionnement auprès de Bruno MEZZENA à Pescara (Italie).
Depuis 2001, il est invité à se produire en soliste ou en musique de chambre en Belgique (Palais des Beaux-arts Bruxelles et Philharmonique de Liège, Flagey, Festivals de Wallonie, etc),
Luxembourg, France, Roumanie, Italie, Angleterre… En 2006, il remporte le 1 er prix au concours GRETRY et le 3ème prix au concours International SAN-MARINO.

Invité comme soliste au festival musical de DURBUY, il s’est illustré dans un concert en partageant la scène avec Abdel RAHMAN EL BACHA. Avec son épouse, la soprano Andreea Minculescu, ils forment un duo qui donne de nombreux concerts en Roumanie, Belgique et en France.

Parallèlement à ses concerts, il consacre beaucoup de temps à l’enseignement dont il voue une véritable passion. Il donne des Master-class en Roumanie et en France et durant son activité pédagogique il a été amené à collaborer avec François THIRY au Conservatoire Royal de Liège et de Jean- Claude VANDEN EYDEN, Johan SCHMIDT, Mickaël FAERMAN, Dominique CORNIL et Eliane REYES au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles.

Actuellement il est professeur de piano au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles et il enseigne également la musique de chambre au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles et de Liège.
Depuis 2010 il est membre du jury du Concours de piano de Liège. Il participe à différentes émissions télévisée (RTBF) et radiophoniques, notamment sur Musique3 (Table d’écoute, retransmission de concert….).

Il a régulièrement partagé la scène en soliste où en duo avec Laurence KOCH, Sebastien WALNIER et Thibault LAVRENOV au Festival de Stavelot et à Flagey dans le cadre du Festival de Wallonie.

En 2012 il a donné l’intégrale des études de Frédéric CHOPIN lors des Concerts de Midi à la Salle Académique de l’Université de Liège dont il est un habitué.
En février 2017 il se produit en soliste avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Ploiesti (Roumanie) dans le concerto de Grieg et en juillet de la même année il est invité au Festival « Les Musicales Guillaume Lekeu » à Verviers (Belgique). Il ponctue l’année avec le 1er concerto de Tchaikovsky dans un concert autour de la musique russe ou il partage la scène de l’Aula Magna de Louvain-la-Neuve avec l’OSEL sous la direction de Philippe Gérard.

Il est invité en 2019 par l’ Orchestre Philharmonique de Arad( Roumanie) à se produire dans le 3eme Concerto pour Piano et Orchestre de L.W.Beethoven.

En 2020 et 2021 il se produit avec succès au festival de Stavelot dans le cadre du Festival de Wallonie 2.0 et au festival « Beethoven 250ème anniversaire » au CRB, concerts retransmis par Musiq3.