Agnès Vesterman

Register online

Agnès Vesterman leads a career as a soloist and chamber musician. She was the quartetist of the Arpeggione quartet from 1988 to 2001 with which she shared thirteen years of international concert tours in the most prestigious venues and festivals in Europe.

In 2006, she formed a duet with Garth Knox, on viola and viola d’amore. Gladly mixing repertoires ranging from baroque to contemporary, they recorded with ECM D’amore (2008), Saltarello (2012) with percussionist Sylvain Lemêtre, and then volume n ° 30 of the Book of Angels Leonard (2016). . Also at ECM, she engraves with cellist Anja Lechner the duets of Valentin Silvestrov Hieroglyphen der Nacht (2017) nominated for the Grammy Awards.
Agnès Vesterman has given numerous solo recitals, including the complete suites by J.S. Bach, and programs that combine baroque, classical and contemporary repertoire for solo cello in an original way: The Wandering Cello or Conversations with John Cage.
Very interested in improvisation and composition, she composes the music for several shows and sets to music the film “A Woman from Tokyo” by Japanese filmmaker Y. Ozu. In 2016, she obtained the Master of Research and Creation at the University of Paris Est for composition work on film and text.

Chamber music teacher at the National Conservatory of Music in Paris, cello teacher at the National Regional Conservatory of Boulogne-Billancourt and trainer in the Superior Poles, Agnès Vesterman has developed a pedagogy which draws its sources from the great European traditions and which is open to innovations.

After studying with Michel Strauss at the Conservatoire de Boulogne-Billancourt, she obtained a scholarship from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1984 to study in United States with great masters, at Yale University with Aldo Parisot and the Tokyo Quartet and then with Harvey Shapiro, professor at the Juilliard School in New York, heir to a great tradition of interpreters (Alexanian -assistant of Casals), Toscanini, Rubinstein, Primrose, Feuerman …).
Back in France, she joined the Arpeggione Quartet in 1988, which perfected with the Amadeus Quartet, the Alban Berg Quartet, Eugen Lener of the Kolisch Quartet (who created the Schönberg Quartets) and Walter Levin of the Lasalle Quartet. She obtained the Certificate of Aptitude for Teaching at the CNSMDP.
Agnès Vesterman was one of the first in France to take an interest in bodily techniques (Alexander Technique, Taichi Chuan, Rhythmic Dalcroze) and their application to stringed instruments. She has intervened in many training sessions around the body and the instrument. (Poles Sup, Cnsmdp, Medicine of the art …).
Since 2003, she has participated in improvisation projects and regularly leads improvisation and creation workshops.
Her reflection on the integration of these techniques into the teaching of classical music was the result of a thesis entitled “The attitude of improvisation in instrumental learning” (available at the Cnsmdp).

Agnès Vesterman

Je m'inscris

Agnès Vesterman mène une carrière de soliste et de chambriste. Elle a été la quartettiste du quatuor Arpeggione de 1988 à 2001 avec lequel elle a partagé treize années de tournées internationales dans les salles et les festivals les plus prestigieux d’Europe.

En 2006, elle a formé un duo avec Garth Knox, à l’alto et la viole d’amour. Mêlant volontiers des répertoires allant du baroque au contemporain, ils enregistrent chez ECM D’amore (2008), Saltarello (2012) avec le percussionniste Sylvain Lemêtre, puis le volume n°30 du Book of Angels Leonard (2016). Toujours chez ECM, elle grave avec la violoncelliste Anja Lechner les duos de Valentin Silvestrov Hieroglyphen der Nacht (2017) nominé aux Grammy Awards.
Agnès Vesterman a donné de nombreux récitals solo, avec l’intégrale des suites de J.S.Bach, et des programmes qui mêlent d’une manière originale le répertoire baroque, classique et contemporain pour violoncelle seul : Le violoncelle errant ou Conversations avec John Cage.
Très intéressée par l’improvisation et la composition, elle compose la musique de plusieurs spectacles et met en musique le film «Une femme de Tokyo» du cinéaste japonais Y. Ozu. En 2016, elle obtient le Master de recherche et création à l’Université Paris Est pour des travaux de composition sur film et texte.

Professeur de musique de chambre au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, professeur de violoncelle au Conservatoire National Régional de Boulogne- Billancourt et formatrice dans les Pôles Supérieurs, Agnès Vesterman a développé une pédagogie qui puise ses sources dans les grandes traditions européennes et qui est ouverte aux innovations.

Après des études auprès de Michel Strauss au Conservatoire de Boulogne- Billancourt, elle a obtenu une bourse du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères en 1984 pour aller étudier aux Etats-Unis auprès de grands maîtres, à l’Université de Yale avec Aldo Parisot et le Quatuor de Tokyo puis avec Harvey Shapiro, professeur à la Juilliard School à New York, héritier d’une grande tradition d’interprètes ( Alexanian -assistant de Casals), Toscanini, Rubinstein, Primrose, Feuerman…).
De retour en France , elle intègre le Quatuor Arpeggione en 1988 qui se perfectionne auprès du Quatuor Amadeus, du Quatuor Alban Berg, d’Eugen Lener du Quatuor Kolisch (qui a créé les quatuors de Schönberg) et de Walter Levin du Quatuor Lasalle. Elle obtient le Certificat d’Aptitude à l’enseignement au CNSMDP.
Agnès Vesterman a été l’une des premières en France à s’intéresser aux techniques corporelles (Technique Alexander, Taichi Chuan, Rythmique Dalcroze) et leur application aux instruments à cordes . Elle est intervenue dans de nombreuses formations autour du corps et de l’instrument. (Pôles Sup,Cnsmdp , Médecine de l’art…).
Elle participe depuis 2003 à des projets autour de l’improvisation et anime régulièrement des ateliers d’improvisation et de création.
Sa réflexion sur l’intégration de ces techniques à l’enseignement de la musique classique a été le fruit d’ un mémoire intitulé “L’attitude d’improvisation dans l’apprentissage instrumental” (consultable au Cnsmdp).