Yena Lee

Register online

Notably known for her diverse musical style, Dr. Lee received prizes in competitions ranging from classical to modern international competitions: Wolfgang Marschner International Competition, Shean Competition, Canadian Music Competition, Young Texas Artist Competition, Eckhardt-Gramatté Competition, Oneppo chamber music competition, Grande Ronde Symphony Competition, Boston University Bach Competition and Young Korean Music Competition of Canada. Dr. Lee made an orchestra debut at the age of 14 and was awarded the “Most Promising Musician Award” from district of British Columbia in the same year. She was youngest recipient of the prestigious JGU-Preis in the history from the Johannes Gutenberg University of Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany.

She often features as a soloist around the globe. She has worked with Adrian Ensemble Italy, Casalmaggiore International Music Festival Orchestra, Grande Ronde Symphony Orchestra, Mainzer Virtuosi Kammerorchester, Mainz Hochschulorchester, Neumeyer Consort Frankfurt, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Vancouver Youth Symphony Orchestra, Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra, Vancouver Pilgrim Orchestra, and West Coast Symphony.
Her performances were featured on art channels in Germany, Italy, and CBC Radio 2 in Canada.
Dr. Lee gives regular solo and chamber music concerts throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. Some of highlight concerts were held in venues such as Carnegie Hall, David Geffen Hall, Museo del violino, Orpheum Theatre, St. John’s Square, and Symphony Hall.

As an active chamber and orchestra musician, Dr. Lee is a member of Mainzer Virtuosi Kammerorchester in Mainz, Germany where she served as co-concertmaster. She works with Oklahoma City Philharmonic, Boston Chamber Orchestra, Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, Mercury Chamber Orchestra, and Kinetic Ensemble. Dr. Lee has worked with Nai-Yuan Hu, Frank Huang, Ilya Kaler, Ida Kavafian, Soovin Kim, Dora Schwarzberg, and Arnold Steinhardt; chamber music with Artis Quartet, Borromeo Quartet, Brentano Quartet, Danish Quartet, Dover Quartet, Emerson Quartet, Hagen Quartet, Jupiter Quartet, Miami Quartet, Miro Quartet, Muir Quartet, Takacs Quartet, and Tokyo Quartet. Dr. Lee also has participated in orchestral projects with John Adams, Juilius Berger, James Conlon, Valery Gergiev, Ken-David Masur, Peter Oundjian, Kryzstof Penderecki, Larry Rachleff, Jose Serebrier, and Bramwell Tovey. She has been invited as guest artist for the Casalmaggiore International Music Festival, Eckelhauser Musikfestival, Kalmia Music Festival, Musiktage am Rhein Music Festival, Norfolk Festival in UK, to name few.

Dr. Lee enthusiastically taught musicians from amateur to professionals of all ages for more than a decade.
. Dr. Lee is a visiting professor of violin at the University of Oklahoma School of Music. Prior to joining University of Oklahoma School of Music, she was a teaching artist in the Music Initiative program and was a violin instructor for music minors and non-major undergraduate and graduate students at Yale University. Dr. Lee served as teaching assistant at Hochschule fuer Musik Mainz, Yale University, Boston University, and Rice University.
Her passion in pedagogy led to lecturing string pedagogy for music education major students at the Boston University, and taught violin, chamber music and music fundamental at the Rice University Shepherd School of Music.
In 2018, Dr. Lee was appointed as an assistant artistic director at the Casalmaggiore International Music Festival Italy as well as Musiktage am Rhein Festival in Germany.

Dr. Lee’s mentors include Taras Gabora, Lawrie Hill, Hyo Kang, Cho-liang Lin, Anne Shih, and Peter Zazofsky. She completed Diplom-Orchestermusik and Konzertexamen (Artist Diploma) as a youngest candidate at the Hochschule fur Musik in Mainz, Germany She received Master of Music and Master of Musical Arts at the Yale School of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts at the Rice University Shepherd School of Music.

Logo de Musicalta - Académies et Festival de Musique

Notamment connue pour son style musical diversifié, Yena Lee est lauréate de nombreux concours allant du classique au concours international moderne : Concours international Wolfgang Marschner, Concours Shean, Concours de musique canadienne, Concours Young Texas Artist, Concours Eckhardt-Gramatté, Concours de musique de chambre Oneppo, Concours symphonique Grande Ronde, Concours Bach de l’Université de Boston et Concours Jeunes Musiques Coréennes du Canada. Yena Lee a fait ses débuts dans un orchestre à l’âge de 14 ans et a reçu le « Most Promising Musician Award » du district de la Colombie-Britannique la même année. Elle est la plus jeune récipiendaire du prestigieux JGU-Preis de l’histoire de l’Université Johannes Gutenberg de Rheinland-Pfalz, en Allemagne.

Elle se produit souvent en tant que soliste dans le monde entier. Elle a travaillé avec l’Ensemble Adrian en Italie, le Casalmaggiore International Music Festival Orchestra, l’orchestre symphonique la Grande Ronde, le Mainzer Virtuosi Kammerorchester, Mainz Hochschulorchester, Neumeyer Consort Frankfurt, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Vancouver Youth Symphony Orchestra, Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra, Vancouver Pilgrim Orchestra et West Coast Symphonie.
Ses performances ont été présentées sur des chaînes d’art en Allemagne, en Italie et sur CBC Radio 2 au Canada.
Yena Lee donne régulièrement des concerts en solo et en musique de chambre en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie. Certains des concerts phares ont eu lieu dans des lieux tels que Carnegie Hall, David Geffen Hall, Museo del violino, Orpheum Theatre, St. John’s Square et Symphony Hall.

En tant que musicienne de chambre et avec orchestre, Yena Lee est membre du Mainzer Virtuosi Kammerorchester à Mayence, en Allemagne, où elle a été co-concertmaster. Elle travaille avec l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Oklahoma City, le Boston Chamber Orchestra, le Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, le Mercury Chamber Orchestra et le Kinetic Ensemble. Le Dr Lee a travaillé avec Nai-Yuan Hu, Frank Huang, Ilya Kaler, Ida Kavafian, Soovin Kim, Dora Schwarzberg et Arnold Steinhardt ; musique de chambre avec Artis Quartet, Borromeo Quartet, Brentano Quartet, Danish Quartet, Dover Quartet, Emerson Quartet, Hagen Quartet, Jupiter Quartet, Miami Quartet, Miro Quartet, Muir Quartet, Takacs Quartet et Tokyo Quartet. Le Dr Lee a également participé à des projets orchestraux avec John Adams, Julius Berger, James Conlon, Valery Gergiev, Ken-David Masur, Peter Oundjian, Krzysztof Penderecki, Larry Rachleff, Jose Serebrier et Bramwell Tovey. Elle a été invitée en tant qu’artiste invitée au Casalmaggiore International Music Festival, Eckelhauser Musikfestival, Kalmia Music Festival, Musiktage am Rhein Music Festival, Norfolk Festival au Royaume-Uni, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Yena Lee enseigne avec enthousiasme à des musiciens amateurs et professionnels de tous âges depuis plus d’une décennie.
Elle est professeur invitée de violon à l’École de musique de l’Université d’Oklahoma. Avant de rejoindre l’école de musique de l’Université de l’Oklahoma, elle était artiste enseignante dans le programme Music Initiative et professeur de violon à l’Université de Yale. Elle a également enseigné à la Hochschule für Musik Mainz, à l’Université Yale, à l’Université de Boston et à l’Université Rice.
Sa passion pour la pédagogie l’a conduit à enseigner la pédagogie des cordes à des étudiants en éducation musicale à l’Université de Boston et à enseigner le violon, la musique de chambre et la musique fondamentale à la Rice University Shepherd School of Music.
En 2018, Yena Lee a été nommé directeur artistique adjoint au Casalmaggiore International Music Festival Italie ainsi qu’au Musiktage am Rhein Festival en Allemagne.

Les mentors de Yena Lee sont Taras Gabora, Lawrie Hill, Hyo Kang, Cho-liang Lin, Anne Shih et Peter Zazofsky. Elle a obtenu le Diploma-Orchestermusik et le Konzertexamen (diplôme d’artiste) en tant que plus jeune candidate à la Hochschule für Musik de Mayence, en Allemagne. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise en musique et une maîtrise en arts musicaux à la Yale School of Music et un doctorat en arts musicaux à la Rice University Shepherd School of Music.