Thierry Barbé

Register online

Thierry Barbé was born in Metz in 1961. After a scientific baccalaureate, piano and double bass studies, he entered the C.N.S.M.D. from Paris where he obtained his first prizes for double bass in the class of Jean-Marc Rollez, for musical analysis in the class of Jacques Castérède, as well as a first “accessit” in harmony in the class of Jean-Claude Raynaud, of history of music in the class of Brigitte François-Sappey, counterpoint in the class of Jean-Claude Henry. At the same time, he studied electro-acoustic music with Michel Zbar, in Boulogne, and conducting with Gérard Devos, in Rueil-Malmaison.

In 1983, Thierry joined the Paris National Opera Orchestra, where he is now solo double bass. Thierry gives numerous concerts, recitals with piano, master classes, in more than twenty-four countries, and records numerous recordings including Nomade, which combines creations, jazz standards and works from the classical repertoire, the DVD French Impressions dedicated to French composers, performs the Mikroncerto for double bass and orchestra by Richard Dubugnon at the Capbreton Festival… highlighting a lyrical and expressive double bass in all musical styles, from baroque to contemporary.

Passionate about the various techniques of the double bass in the world, Thierry is President of A.B.C.D.F. succeeding Pierre Hellouin, (Association of french double bass players), he is a member of the board of the Bass Europe Society and of the ISB, (International Society of Bassists), but also a member of the Association Médecine des Arts and of l ‘E.S.T.A. He animated the French double bass for more than 10 years as editor of the review “ABCDF”, creating the annual mini double bass competitions, “Haut les basses”, and in 2008, always with the fabulous team of the A.B.C.D.F. and his colleague Riccardo Del Fra, he is organizing an exceptional world double bass convention at the C.N.S.M.D. de Paris: Bass’2008, with more than eighty recitals and lectures dedicated to this instrument. He thus initiated a process of better exchanges in Europe: Bass’2010 in Berlin, Bass’2012 in Copenhagen, as well as in Amsterdam, Prague, Lucca …

In 1992, Thierry obtained his Certificate of Aptitude (french teaching diploma) as a double bass teacher. He first taught at Paris conservatories, then at the National C.R.R. of Saint-Maur (since 1987) as well as at the National Superior C.N.S.M.D. of Paris (since 1999).

He has also been a trainer and “tutor” for the double bass C.A. and is currently artistic director of the Biarritz International Bass Academy summer internship (since 2015).

He is giving master classes all over the world and his orchestral experience with the greatest conductors allows him to take part in the juries of international competitions and orchestras around the world.

Thierry wants to promote the double bass for everyone, even for the smallest hand sizes. Its technical pedagogy is adapted to the parameters of the student and not the other way around. Having toured in master classes all over the world, he has toured world techniques, all French and German bow outfits, all types of fingerings depending on the hand. Musically, he defends expression throughout the repertoire (orchestral, soloist according to the styles of the times, contemporary …). He teaches at all levels, from beginner to doctorate, prepares for orchestral and international competitions, auditions, etc.

He will be delighted to share and meet all students of all nationalities.

Logo de Musicalta - Académies et Festival de Musique

Thierry Barbé

Register online

Thierry Barbé est né à Metz en 1961. Après un baccalauréat scientifique, des études de piano et de contrebasse, il entre au C.N.S.M.D. de Paris où il obtient ses premiers prix de contrebasse dans la classe de Jean-Marc Rollez, d’analyse musicale dans la classe de Jacques Castérède, ainsi qu’un premier accessit d’harmonie dans la classe de Jean-Claude Raynaud, d’histoire de la musique dans la classe de Brigitte François-Sappey, de contrepoint dans la classe de Jean-Claude Henry. Il étudie parallèlement la musique électro-acoustique avec Michel Zbar, à Boulogne et la direction d’orchestre avec Gérard Devos, à Rueil-Malmaison.

En 1983, il intègre l’Orchestre National de l’Opéra de Paris, formation dont il est aujourd’hui contrebasse solo. Par ailleurs, Thierry donne de nombreux concerts, récitals avec piano, master classes, dans plus de vingt-quatre pays, et grave de nombreux enregistrements dont Nomade, où se mêlent créations, standards de jazz et œuvres du répertoire classique, le DVD French Impressions, consacré aux compositeurs français, interprète le Mikroncerto pour contrebasse et orchestre de Richard Dubugnon au Festival de Capbreton… mettant en avant une contrebasse lyrique et expressive dans tous les styles musicaux, du baroque au contemporain.

Se passionnant pour les diverses techniques de la contrebasse dans le monde, Thierry est Président de l’A.B.C.D.F. en succédant à Pierre Hellouin, (Association des Contrebassistes de France), il est membre du bureau de la Bass Europe Society et de l’I.S.B., (International Society of Bassists), mais également membre de l’association Médecine des Arts et de l’E.S.T.A. Il a animé la contrebasse française pendant plus de 10 années comme directeur de rédaction de la revue « ABCDF », en créant les concours annuels de mini contrebasses, « Haut les basses », et en 2008, toujours avec la fabuleuse équipe de l’A.B.C.D.F. et son collègue Riccardo Del Fra, il organise une convention mondiale exceptionnelle de la contrebasse au C.N.S.M.D. de Paris : Bass’2008, avec plus de quatre-vingt récitals et conférences consacrés à cet instrument. Il a ainsi initié un processus de meilleurs échanges en Europe : Bass’2010 à Berlin, Bass’2012 à Copenhague, ainsi qu’à Amsterdam, Prague, Lucca…

En 1992, Thierry obtient son Certificat d’Aptitude de professeur de contrebasse. Il enseigne tout d’abord à la Ville de Paris, puis au C.R.R. de Saint-Maur (depuis 1987) ainsi qu’au C.N.S.M.D. de Paris (depuis 1999).

Il a été également formateur et « tuteur » pour le C.A. de contrebasse et est actuellement directeur artistique du stage d’été Biarritz International Bass Academy (depuis 2015).

Il donne des master classes dans le monde entier et son expérience d’orchestre avec les plus grands chefs le fait participer aux jurys de concours internationaux et d’orchestres dans le monde.

Thierry veut promouvoir la contrebasse pour tous, même pour les plus petites tailles de mains. Sa pédagogie technique est adaptée sur les paramètres de l’étudiant et non l’inverse. Ayant tourné en master-classes sur le monde entier, il a fait le tour des techniques mondiales, toutes tenues d’archets français, allemands, tous types de doigtés selon les mains. Sur le plan musical, il défend l’expression sur tout le répertoire (orchestral, soliste selon les styles d’époques, contemporain…). Il enseigne à tous les niveaux, du débutant jusqu’au doctorat, prépare aux concours d’orchestres, internationaux, auditions, etc…

Il sera ravi de partager et de rencontrer tous étudiants de toutes nationalités.