SeYoung Maria Kim

Session 2 Register online

SeYoung Maria Kim is a Korean-born violinist, who has been characterized as an artist who “not only infuses her music with strength and vitality; she herself becomes music.“ and who “will certainly cause a sensation in the world of music.“

She studied violin with several major Korean violin professors, including Han-Won Choi and Nam-Yun Kim. Graduated from YonSei university in 2001, she went on to study at Basel with Prof. Adelina Oprean in her “Konzertklasse”. In 2004, she graduated with highest marks from the Studiengang “Künstlerische Ausbildung” with Prof. Wolfram Konig in Trossingen. She then went on to study in the “Solistische Ausbildung“ with Prof. Winfried Rademacher as well as for baroque violin with Prof. Anton Steck and conducting chorus / orchestra with Prof. Manfred Schreier. During this time, she was fortunate to work with professors covering a wide range of instruments in chamber music such as Peter Barcaba(Piano), Anton Spiri (Piano), Diethelm Jonas (Oboe), Jean-Guihen Queyras (Cello), Chen Halevi (Clarinet), Akos Hernadi (Piano), Francis Orval (Horn), Wolfgang Wagenhauser (Piano), Sadao Harada (Cello, Tokyo Quartet). She also took master classes with Se-Won Seo, Ik-Whan Bae, David Zafer, Roman Nodel, and Bart van Oort.

SeYoung Maria Kim played as orchestra concertmaster at the “Musikalischer Sommer” for the “Friedensfestival Ostfriesland“ Festival, played as 1st violin in the Philharmonische Staatsorchester Mainz, as principal player in the Oldenburgische Staatsorchester and concertmaster in the Anyang Philharmonie. Furthermore, she has played as a soloist in the Seoul Symphony Orchestra, the Yon-Sei String Orchestra, the “Orchester des musikalischen Sommers” in Ostfriesland, the Kammerorchester Radolfzell, the Premier Orchestra in Seoul, String Orchestra Erbach as well as a soloist and chamber musician in several major music festivals including the Aspen Music Festival in Colorado (USA), the “Zomerconcerten” in Drenthe (Holland), and the “Musikalischer Sommer Ostfriesland” (Germany).

Kim has participated in a Deutsche Grammophon’s CD production and a CD recording with world-renowned musician Vladimir Ashkenazy, as well as played live in German radio broadcasts (Deutschlandradio Kultur, SWR). Her work in bridging and integrating classical music from different epochs culminated in a solo recording album “Violin Pure” that has been described as “a remarkable balancing act” in which “she contrasts two milestones of the baroque solo repertoire with two mainstays of romantic and contemporary violin music […] Kim manages to give each piece its proper voice, including its stylistic expression. In her play she integrates two features that have always characterized true artists: technical virtuosity combined with deference and respect for the work of art.”

Currently, she works as a soloist, as member of the chamber music ensembles Crossingen and Ensemble UI, and as member of the Duo Clara (with piano), the Duo Alouette (with guitar), and the CM Trio (piano and cello).

In addition, along with her passion for not only performing but also for teaching music she is General Director of the Bucheon Youth Orchestra and professor for violin at one of the top music education departments in Korea at Ewha University.

SeYoung Maria Kim’s teaching is focused on enabling students to realize their full musical potential so they can succeed in their career. This includes addressing technical issues such as posture and bowing technique, but also preparation for exams and recitals, as well as deepening a student’s musical understanding.

SeYoung Maria Kim

Session 2
Je m'inscris

Seyoung Maria Kim est une violoniste d’origine coréenne, connue comme une artiste qui «insuffle non seulement sa force et sa vitalité à la musique, mais qui incarne aussi la musique» et qui «fera certainement sensation dans le monde de la musique».

Elle a étudié le violon avec plusieurs grands professeurs de violon coréens, notamment Han-Won Choi et Nam-Yun Kim. Diplômée de l’université YonSei en 2001, elle a étudié à Bâle avec la professeure Adelina Oprean dans sa «Konzertklasse». En 2004, elle a obtenu les meilleures notes du Studiengang « Künstlerische Ausbildung » avec le Professeur Wolfram Konig à Trossingen. Elle poursuit ensuite ses études au « Solistische Ausbildung » avec le professeur Winfried Rademacher, avec le professeur Anton Steck en violon baroque, et avec le professeur Manfred Schreier en direction de choeur et orchestre. Pendant cette période, elle a eu la chance de travailler avec des professeurs de musique de chambre tels que Peter Barcaba (Piano), Anton Spiri (Piano), Diethelm Jonas (Oboe), Jean-Guihen Queyras (Violoncelle), Chen Halevi (Clarinette), Akos Hernadi (Piano), Francis Orval (Cor), Wolfgang Wagenhauser (Piano), Sadao Harada (Violoncelle, Tokyo Quartet). Elle a également suivi des cours de maître avec Se-Won Seo, Ik-Whan Bae, David Zafer, Roman Nodel et Bart van Oort.

SeYoung Maria Kim a joué en tant que violon solo au « Musikalischer Sommer » pour le Festival « Friedensfestival Ostfriesland », en tant que premier violon au Philharmonische Staatsorchester Mainz, en tant que violon super solo au “Oldenburgische Staatsorchester” et également en tant que premier violon à la Philharmonie d’Anyang. Elle a également joué comme soliste au Seoul Symphony Orchestra, au Yon-Sei String Orchestra, à l’Orchestre des Musikalischen Sommers d’Ostfriesland, au Kammerorchester Radolfzell, au “Premier Orchestra” de Séoul, à l’Orchestre à cordes Erbach et elle a participé en tant que soliste et chambriste à plusieurs grands festivals de musique dont l’Aspen Music Festival au Colorado (États-Unis), le «Zomerconcerten» à Drenthe (Hollande) et le «Musikalischer Sommer Ostfriesland» (Allemagne).

SeYoung Maria Kim a participé à la production d’un CD Deutsche Grammophon et à un enregistrement sur CD avec le musicien de renommée mondiale Vladimir Ashkenazy, ainsi qu’à des émissions de radio allemandes (Deutschlandradio Kultur, SWR). Son travail de transition et d’intégration de la musique classique de différentes époques a abouti à un album solo « Violin Pure » dans lequel elle est décrite comme « une remarquable équilibriste » …”qui contraste deux jalons du répertoire solo baroque avec deux piliers de la musique romantique et contemporaine de violon […] Kim parvient à donner à chaque pièce sa voix propre, y compris son expression stylistique. Dans cet album, elle intègre deux forces qui ont toujours caractérisé les vrais artistes : la virtuosité technique combinée à la déférence et au respect de l’œuvre d’art.  »

Actuellement, SeYoung Maria Kim est soliste, membre des ensembles de musique de chambre Crossingen et Ensemble UI, et membre du Duo Clara (avec piano), du Duo Alouette (avec guitare) et du CM Trio (piano et violoncelle).
Parallèlement à sa passion non seulement pour l’interprétation mais aussi pour l’enseignement de la musique, elle est directrice générale de l’Orchestre des jeunes de Bucheon et professeur de violon dans l’un des meilleurs départements d’éducation musicale de Corée à l’Université Ewha.

L’enseignement de SeYoung Maria Kim vise à permettre aux élèves de réaliser leur plein potentiel musical afin qu’ils puissent réussir leur carrière. Cela inclut aborder des questions techniques telles que la posture et la technique d’archet, mais aussi la préparation aux examens et aux récitals, ainsi que l’approfondissement de la compréhension musicale d’un étudiant.