Reto Kuppel

Session 2
Official websiteRegister online

reto kuppel violon German violinist Reto Kuppel has performed throughout Europe and the United States including the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Herkulessaal and Gasteig in Munich, at Alice Tully Hall in New York City. He has appeared as soloist with the Hamburg Symphony, Ruhrstadtorchester Schwerte, Munich Symphony, Concertino Hamburg, the Ensemble Haar, the Munich Baroque-Ensemble and the Augsburg Philharmonic Orchestra.

Kuppel made his solo concert debut at the age of 13 in Greece. He has been the recipient of numerous first prizes in national and international violin competitions, including the german Jugend Musiziert Competition, and the Chateau de Courcillon International Violin Competition in France. He studied with Andreas Röhn at the  Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg, and with Dorothy DeLay at The Juilliard School in New York City. He studied chamber music with Ralph Gothoni, Herman Krebbers, Zakhar Bron, and Felix Galimir.

After appearing in the gala concerts of the Franz-Wirth-Foundation and the Masefield-Foundation in Hamburg, he was invited to play in many festivals such as the “Tonkünstlerfest Baden‑Württemberg”, the “Schleswig Holstein Music Festival”, the “International Brahms Congress” in Hamburg and “La Tribune des Jeunes Musiciens” in Geneva, the “Richard-Strauss-Festival” in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and the “Rheingau Musikfestival” in Wiesbaden.

He has recorded for radio and television, including NDR, tele5, ARD, Radio Duinrand, BR, Radio de la Suisse Romande and ZDF. He is an avid string quartet player and chamber music player and has released CDs for Naxos and AME. His three world premier recordings of works by Franz Schubert, Friedrich Hermann and Ferdinand David were highly acclaimed by critics and audiences alike: “Straightaway it must be acknowledged that the playing of Reto Kuppel is absolutely sensational… Everything is played with taste and refinement. Tuning and tone are immaculate.” (musicweb-international.com)

Kuppel served as Concertmaster of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra from 1997 until 2013. With this ensemble he concertized in the major concert halls all over the world.

Currently, Kuppel is Professor of violin at the Hochschule für Musik in Nuremberg.

Reto Kuppel

Session 2

Résumé du parcours du violoniste Reto Kuppel

Site officielJe m'inscris

reto kuppel violon Violoniste allemand, Reto Kuppel a joué dans toute l’Europe et aux États- Unis, notamment au Concertgebouw d’ Amsterdam, à la Herkulessaal et au centre culturel Gasteig à Munich, ainsi qu’au Alice Tully Hall à New York. Il a joué comme soliste avec de nombreux orchestres dont : l’Orchestre symphonique de Hambourg, le «Ruhrstadtorchester Schwerte», l’Orchestre symphonique de Munich, le Concertino Hambourg, l’Ensemble Haar, l’ Ensemble baroque de Munich et l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Augsburg.

Reto Kuppel a donné son premier concert en soliste à l’âge de 13 ans en Grèce. Il a gagné de nombreux premiers prix dans des concours de violon nationaux et internationaux, y compris au «German Jugend Musiziert Jugend», et au Concours International de Violon du Château de Courcillon en France. Il a étudié avec Andreas Röhn à la Hochschule für Musik und Theater de Hambourg, et avec Dorothy Delay à la Juilliard School à New York. Il a étudié la musique de chambre avec Ralph Gothoni, Herman Krebbers, Zakhar Bron, et Felix Galimir.

Après être apparu dans les concerts de gala des Fondations Franz-Wirth et Masefield à Hambourg, Reto Kuppel a été invité à jouer dans de nombreux festivals tels que le  » Tonkünstlerfest Baden-Württemberg », le « Schleswig Holstein Music Festival», le « International Brahms Congrès » à Hambourg et « la Tribune des Jeunes Musiciens » à Genève, le  » Richard – Strauss- festival » à Garmisch- Partenkirchen et le « Rheingau Musikfestival » à Wiesbaden.

Reto Kuppel a enregistré pour la radio et la télévision, notamment les chaînes NDR, Tele 5, ARD, Radio Duinrand, BR, la Radio Suisse Romande et ZDF. Il se produit régulièrement en quatuor à cordes et en musique de chambre et il a publié des CD pour Naxos et AME. Ses enregistrements des œuvres de Franz Schubert, Friedrich Hermann et Ferdinand David ont été acclamés par la critique comme par le public : « D’emblée , il faut reconnaître que le jeu de Reto Kuppel est absolument sensationnel … Tout se joue avec goût et raffinement. Tuning et ton sont impeccables ( musicweb-international ) ».

Reto Kuppel a été premier violon solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de la Radio bavaroise de 1997 à 2013. Avec cet ensemble il a donné des concerts dans les grandes salles de concert du monde entier.

Actuellement, Reto Kuppel est professeur de violon à la Hochschule für Musik de Nuremberg.