Paul Coker

Session 1
Register online

Paul Coker was born in 1959 in London. He studied at Yehudi Menuhin School and then at the Royal College of Music. Among them were Vlado Perlemuter and Nadia Boulanger. He also attended Alfred Brendel’s private education.

A recipient of numerous awards, including the Jackson Master Award in Boston, he was also named Best Musician of the Year by the BBC in 1978.

His concert career began in 1978 with his participation in several international festivals. He has performed with many major orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the English Chamber Orchestra, the Tonhalle de Zürich, the Belgian National Symphony and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe.

At the age of 20, he played for the first time with Yehudi Menuhin: it was the beginning of a series of more than two hundred recitals around the world with the master. Together, for ten years, they performed on all the world stages, giving the whole repertoire for violin and piano.

Paul Coker is a chamber music lover and has collaborated with Pierre Amoyal, Joshua Bell, Nigel Kennedy, Raphaël Oleg, Lorand Fenyves, Alberto Lysy, Arnold Steinhardt, Norbert Brainin, Catherine Jaccottet, Steven Isserlis, Thomas Demenga, Heinrich Schiff, Gary Karr and Benny Goodman.

Paul Coker has been teaching piano since 1995 at the Geneva University of Music “Haute Ecole de Musique”.

Paul coker

Session 1
Je m'inscris

Paul Coker est né en 1959 à Londres. Il a fait ses études à l’école Yehudi Menuhin puis au Royal College of Music. Il y a notamment eu pour maîtres Vlado Perlemuter et Nadia Boulanger. Il a également suivi l’enseignement privé d’Alfred Brendel.

Lauréat de nombreux prix, dont le Jackson Master Award (Boston), il a également été nommé Meilleur musicien de l’année par la BBC en 1978.

Sa carrière de concertiste a commencé en 1978 par sa participation à plusieurs festivals internationaux. Il a joué avec de nombreux grands orchestres dont la Philharmonie de Berlin, le Royal Philarmonic Orchestra, le English Chamber Orchestra, le Tonhalle de Zürich, le Belgian National Symphony, le Chamber Orchestra of Europe..

A l’âge de 20 ans, il joue pour la première fois avec Yehudi Menuhin : c’est le début d’une série de plus de deux cents récitals dans le monde entier avec le maître. Ensemble, durant dix ans, ils se produisent sur toutes les scènes mondiales, donnant tout le répertoire pour violon et piano.

Amoureux de la musique de chambre, Paul Coker a collaboré avec Pierre Amoyal, Joshua Bell, Nigel Kennedy, Raphaël Oleg, Lorand Fenyves, Alberto Lysy, Arnold Steinhardt, Norbert Brainin, Catherine Jaccottet, Steven Isserlis, Thomas Demenga, Heinrich Schiff, Gary Karr et Benny Goodman.

Paul Coker enseigne le piano depuis 1995 à la Haute Ecole de musique de Genève.