Israeli-Swiss violinist Lihay Bendayan is combining with passion his international concertist’s career with a rich academic activity. After holding for close to a decade the position of Professor of Violin at the HEMU – Vaud, Valais, Fribourg, University of Music, in Switzerland, Lihay Bendayan is actually holding the position of Professor, Head of the Violin Class and Dean of the Faculty of Performing Arts, at the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance. In his violin classes were formed prominent violinists from around the world, and he regularly gives masterclasses in prestigious academic institutions around Europe.

Starting his violin studies in Israel at the age of five with Michael Gaisler, and following studies with Miriam Solovieff in Paris, Lihay has become at the age of nine and by recommendation of Isaac Stern, the pupil of the legendary pedagogue Ilona Feher. Lihay has been the youngest and the last student to be accepted in Feher’s distinguished violin class which included Shmuel Ashkenazi, Pinchas Zukermann and Shlomo Mintz.

In his childhood Lihay was supported by foundations such as the American-Israel Cultural Foundation and the Jerusalem Music Center. He accomplished his academic studies at the Geneva HEM University of Music, where he was awarded at the age of 17 a Postgraduate degree under the guidance of french violinist Jean-Pierre Wallez, and later in Sion at the Conservatoire Supérieur, in the class of the famous hungarian virtuoso and conductor Tibor Varga.

In his earlier years Lihay has appeared as a young soloist in Israel and in numerous european cities in Switzerland, France, Germany, Italy and England, where he played his Debut Concert in the year 2000 in London at St. Martin in the Fields. He has played numerous concerts around Europe as a soloist under the direction of Tibor Varga and his chamber orchestra.

In 2002, the Bendayan Trio was founded with pianist Yoav Bendayan and cellist Iftah Bendayan. The Bendayan Trio, formed by the three brothers, performed during the following decade in prestigious concert halls and festivals, and was regularly broadcasted on the television and radio around Europe and in Israel. The trio, launched by Agneta Lansing Artist Management in 2003, recorded major works by Mendelssohn, Faure, Shostakovich and Rachmaninoff at “Fattoria Musica” in Germany. The recordings and concerts of the trio have been subject to passionate criticism:

“Played with heart and soul into a trance” (Osnabrücker Neue Zeitung).
“Their Shostakovich was so beautiful that tears almost dropped…” (Sueddeutsche Zeitung).

Lihay Bendayan

Site officielJe m'inscris

Le violoniste israélo-suisse Lihay Bendayan associe avec passion sa carrière de concertiste international à une riche activité universitaire. Après avoir occupé pendant près de dix ans le poste de professeur de violon à la HEMU – Université de Musique, Vaud, Valais, Fribourg en Suisse, Lihay Bendayan occupe actuellement le poste de professeur, responsable de la classe de violon et doyen de la faculté. des arts de la scène à l’Académie de musique et de danse de Jérusalem. Dans ses classes de violon ont été formés des violonistes renommés du monde entier, et il donne régulièrement des masterclasses dans des institutions académiques prestigieuses à travers l’Europe.

Il commence ses études de violon en Israël à cinq ans avec Michael Gaisler, puis à Paris avec Miriam Solovieff. Lihay est devenu à l’âge de neuf ans et sur recommandation d’Isaac Stern, élève du légendaire pédagogue Ilona Feher. Il a été le plus jeune et le dernier élève à avoir été accepté dans la classe de violon distinguée de Feher, qui comprenait Shmuel Ashkenazi, Pinchas Zukermann et Shlomo Mintz.

Dans son enfance, Lihay a été soutenu par des fondations telles que la Fondation culturelle américano-israélienne et le Jerusalem Music Center. Il a fait ses études à l’Université de Musique HEM de Genève où il obtient à l’âge de 17 ans un diplôme de troisième cycle sous la direction du violoniste français Jean-Pierre Wallez, puis à Sion au Conservatoire Supérieur, dans la classe de célèbre virtuose hongrois et chef d’orchestre Tibor Varga.

Dans ses premières années, Lihay a joué en tant que jeune soliste en Israël et dans de nombreuses villes européennes en Suisse, en France, en Allemagne, en Italie et en Angleterre, où il a fait ses débuts en concert en 2000 à Londres à St. Martin in the Fields. Il a joué lors de nombreux concerts en Europe en tant que soliste sous la direction de Tibor Varga et de son orchestre de chambre.

En 2002, le Trio Bendayan a été fondé avec le pianiste Yoav Bendayan et le violoncelliste Iftah Bendayan. Le Bendayan Trio, formé par les trois frères, se produit au cours de la décennie suivante dans de prestigieuses salles de concert et festivals, et est régulièrement diffusé à la télévision et à la radio en Europe et en Israël. Le Trio, lancé par Agneta Lansing Artist Management en 2003, a enregistré des œuvres majeures de Mendelssohn, Fauré, Shostakovich et Rachmaninoff à «Fattoria Musica» en Allemagne. Les enregistrements et les concerts du trio ont fait l’objet de critiques passionnées :
“Joué avec cœur et âme dans une transe” (Osnabrücker Neue Zeitung).
« Leur Shostakovich était si belle que les larmes ont presque coulé … » (Sueddeutsche Zeitung).