Jeroen den Herder

Register online

Jeroen den Herder completed his studies with distinction at the Conservatory of Amsterdam
with Dmitri Ferschtman, and in London with Christopher Bunting. He then became a leader of the Cello Octet Conjunto Ibérico, a group with a worldwide reputation as a full time cello ensemble, performing around 40 concerts a year.
Den Herder has won several music awards through the years, he won the “Postbank Sweelinck” competition in 1992 and the first prize of the Foundation of the Royal Concertgebouw Amsterdam. He recently won the “Anton Kersjes Prize” as a member of the Ruysdael Quartet.

He’s been an active chamber music player, performing with musicians like Janine Jansen, Igor Roma, Anner Bijlsma and Yo-Yo Ma.

He has performed as a soloist in more than 25 countries in great music halls like Wigmore Hall (London), Lincoln Centre (New York), Concertgebouw (Amsterdam) and Palais des Beaux Arts (Bruxelles), performing all major concertos of the cello repertoire by the baton of Friedemann Layer, Ed Spanjaard and Alexander Rudin.

Since 1999 Jeroen has been a member of the “Nieuw Ensemble”, one of the leading Dutch chamber music groups for contemporary music.
As a member of the Ruysdael Quartet Jeroen has performed in all major concert halls in Holland, receiving much acclaim for concerts at the Amsterdam Quartet Biënnale.
This season the quartet will do a reprice of a tour to Japan and will also perform in several festivals in Georgia, France and England. The Ruysdael Quartet is a founder of its own chamber music festival which is held every year in June.
He is the artistic director of both the Cello Festival Zutphen and the Cello Academie Zutphen where students can have masterclasses and an after-conservatory year to prepare for auditions, teaching or playing.

Den Herder has been a dedicated teacher ever since he took a professorship at the age of 22 at the Utrecht conservatory. His lessons are based on a healthy development between mind and body, and a cello technique inspired by his teacher Christopher Bunting, a former student of Pablo Casals.

For Jeroen den Herder, cello playing is based on natural principles like gravity, character and playfulness. Everything is music, play not to avoid mistakes, delegation of body functions and breathing are some key topics which will lead to a healthy way to achieve perfection. His main focus is on how and what people practise. He believes that being aware of one’s imagination, sensitive listening and following intuition, are elements that have proved to be the best teachers for life.

Today Jeroen den Herder is professor at the Conservatories in Amsterdam and Rotterdam, where he guides a class with 15 students. He’s been a regular guest teacher at the Conservatory in Minsk and visiting guest professor at the University in Tainan, Taiwan.
He has given masterclasses in Holland, Germany, France, Israel, Turkey and in Prague.
“I’ve heard Jeroen den Herder performing the Elgar cello concerto with the Sint Petersburg
Philharmonic Orchestra. He played with great distinction and sensitivity, and I believe he will
grow into a wonderful cellist” Yehudi Menuhin, 1995

Den Herder Jeroen

Je m'inscris

Jeroen den Herder termine ses études avec distinction au conservatoire d’Amsterdam avec Dmitri Ferschtman et à Londres avec Christopher Bunting. Il devient ensuite violoncelle solo de l’ octette de violoncelles Conjunto Ibérico, formation de renommée mondiale en tant qu’ensemble de violoncelle à temps plein, se produisant en concert 40 fois par an.
Jeroen Den Herder est lauréat du concours «Postbank Sweelinck» en 1992 et Premier prix de la Fondation du Royal Concertgebouw Amsterdam. Il a récemment remporté le « Prix Anton Kersjes » en tant que membre du Quatuor Ruysdael.

Jeroen den Herder se produit activement en musique de chambre avec des musiciens tels que Janine Jansen, Igor Roma, Anner Bijlsma et Yo-Yo Ma.
Il s’est produit en soliste dans plus de 25 pays dans de grandes salles de concerts telles que Wigmore Hall (Londres), Lincoln Center (New York), Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), le Palais des Beaux Arts (Bruxelles), interprétant tous les grands concertos du répertoire de violoncelle sous la baguette de Friedemann Layer, Ed Spanjaard et Alexander Rudin.

Depuis 1999, Jeroen den Herder est membre du “Nieuw Ensemble”, l’un des plus grands groupes néerlandais groupes de musique de chambre de musique contemporaine.
Jeroen a joué dans toutes les grandes salles de concert du Pays-Bas en tant que membre du quatuor Ruysdael qui a obtenu un grand succès notamment à la biennale du Quatuor à Amsterdam.
Cette saison, le quatuor fera une tournée au Japon et également en Géorgie, en France et en Angleterre. Le Quatuor Ruysdael est l’un des fondateurs du festival de musique de chambre qui porte son nom et qui se tient chaque année en juin.

Jeroen den Herder est directeur artistique du Festival de violoncelle Zutphen et de la Cello Academie Zutphen où les étudiants peuvent avoir des classes de maître et une année d’après-conservatoire pour se préparer à auditionner, enseigner ou jouer.

Jeroen den Herder est un enseignant dévoué depuis l’âge de 22 ans, alors nommé professeur au conservatoire d’Utrecht. Ses leçons sont basées sur un développement sain entre l’esprit et le corps et sur une technique de violoncelle inspirée de son professeur Christopher Bunting, ancien élève de Pablo Casals.

Pour Jeroen den Herder, le jeu de violoncelle est basé sur des principes naturels comme la gravité, le caractère et l’enjouement. Tout est musique, jouer pour ne pas éviter les erreurs, délégation des fonctions corporelles et respiration sont quelques-uns des sujets clés qui mèneront à une manière saine d’atteindre la perfection. Son objectif principal est de savoir comment et qu’est-ce que les étudiants pratiquent. Il pense qu’être conscient de son imagination, écouter avec sensibilité et suivre son intuition sont des éléments qui se sont révélés être les meilleurs enseignants de la vie.

Aujourd’hui, Jeroen den Herder est professeur au Conservatoire d’Amsterdam et de Rotterdam, où il dirige une classe de 15 étudiants. Il a été professeur invité régulier au conservatoire de Minsk et professeur invité à l’université de Tainan, à Taiwan. Il a donné des classes de maître en Hollande, en Allemagne, en France et en Israël, à Prague et en Turquie.
“Jeroen den Herder a joué le concerto pour violoncelle de Elgar avec l’orchestre de Orchestre philharmonique. Il a joué avec beaucoup de distinction et de sensibilité, et je crois qu’il deviendra un merveilleux violoncelliste »Yehudi Menuhin, 1995