David Eggert

Session 2 Official websiteRegister online

Canadian cellist David Eggert was raised in a musical family, playing string quartet and singing in choirs from an early age.

He studied in Edmonton with Tanya Prochazka, in Boston with Lawrence Lesser, in Montreal with Matt Haimovitz, in Salzburg with Clemens Hagen, and in Basel with Rainer Schmidt. Other important influences were Heinrich Schiff, Anner Bylsma, and Vittorio Ghielmi.

David Eggert won first prizes at the 2008 international cello competition Antonio Janigro in Zagreb, the Grand Prize at the 2006 Eckhardt-Gramatté competition for Canadian music, and the 2014 Domnick cello prize for new music in stuttgart, and received honorary awards at the Naumburg international cello competition in New York as well as the 2009 Markneukirchen International Instrumental Competition

He has since performed as a soloist and chamber musician in countries around the world.

David Eggert appears in concert halls as soloist and chamber musician from St. Petersburg and Istanbul to Boston and vienna to critical acclaim and disdain, re-evaluating the traditional canon, improvising, studying, making art music more open, finding the forgotten, neglected gems, and following the spirit of creativity in old and new compositions.

An adamant proponent of sounds and concepts of the contemporary art music, he has appeared in festivals among others in Darmstadt, Essen, Milan, Vancouver, and Istanbul performing world premiers, working with composers, and experimenting with kindred pioneers of new music

Since 2015 he has been teaching cello, contemporary music, and chamber music at the Hochschule der Künste in Bern – Switzerland. He is also active in the fields of musical theater, electro-acoustic improvisation, historically informed performance practice, microtonal research, choral direction, and plays viola da gamba.

David Eggert

Session 2
Site officielJe m'inscris

Le violoncelliste canadien David Eggert a grandi dans une famille de musiciens, jouant dans un quatuor à cordes et chantant dans des chœurs dès son plus jeune âge.

Il a étudié à Edmonton avec Tanya Prochazka, à Boston avec Lawrence Lesser, à Montréal avec Matt Haimovitz, à Salzbourg avec Clemens Hagen et à Bâle avec Rainer Schmidt. D’autres influences importantes pour lui sont Heinrich Schiff, Anner Bylsma et Vittorio Ghielmi.

David Eggert a remporté les premiers prix au Concours international de violoncelle Antonio Janigro 2008 à Zagreb, le Grand Prix du Concours Eckhardt-Gramatté 2006 pour la musique canadienne et le Prix Domnick 2014 pour la musique nouvelle à Stuttgart, ainsi que des prix honorifiques au Concours international de violoncelle de Naumburg à New York et au Concours international d’instrumentation Markneukirchen 2009.

Depuis, il s’est produit comme soliste et chambriste dans le monde entier.

David Eggert se produit dans les salles de concert en tant que soliste et chambriste à Saint-Pétersbourg, Istanbul, Boston, Vienne et partout la critique l’acclame. Il sort du cadre habituel en improvisant et en rendant la musique plus ouverte, en faisant découvrir les oeuvres oubliée, et en suivant son esprit de créativité dans les compositions anciennes et nouvelles.

Fervent défenseur des sons et des concepts de la musique contemporaine, David Eggert a participé à de nombreux Festivals à Darmstadt, Essen, Milan, Vancouver et Istanbul où il a joué en première mondiale, travaillé avec des compositeurs et avec des pionniers de la musique contemporaine.

Depuis 2015, David Eggert enseigne le violoncelle, la musique contemporaine et la musique de chambre à la Hochschule der Künste à Berne en Suisse. Il est également actif dans les domaines du théâtre musical, de l’improvisation électroacoustique, de la pratique théâtrale éclairée par l’histoire, de la recherche microtonale et de la direction chorale et de la viole de gambe.