Frédérique Friess

Register online

Soprano 

French soprano Frédérique Friess studied singing at the National Conservatory in her hometown, Strasbourg; at the Higher Conservatory of Music and Dramatic Art of
Stuttgart (in the classes of Luisa Bosabalian, then Dunja Vejzovic); at the Mozarteum
Salzburg (Lied with Hartmut Höll) and Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi of Milan in Italy (Rita Orlandi-Malaspina class). She followed masterclasses of Regina Resnik, Brigitte Fassbaender, Thomas Moser and Hilde Zadek.

Frédérique Friess is a laureate of numerous international competitions: 1st Prize of the International Competition for Lyrical Art in Pavia (Italy), semi-finalist of the very famous Queen Elisabeth International Competition in Brussels, the Hugo Wolf Competition in Stuttgart, recipient of the Circle Richard Wagner and Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi of Milan.

She made her debut at the Junge Oper in Stuttgart and was then hired at the Staatsoper
Hamburg (first as a young artist at the Opera-Studio International and then in
invited), where she debuted, among others, in the roles of Papagena, then Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Barbarina (The Nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Frasquita (Carmen), Gianetta (L’elisir d’amore), Gretel (Hänsel und Gretel), Marie (Zar und Zimmermann), Jungfer Marianne Leitmtzerin (Der Rosenkavalier) and sung under the direction of many renowned conductors such as Ingo Metzmacher, Cornelius Meister, Alfred Eschwe, Philippe Auguin and Patrick Davin.

Her career continued at the National Theater in Mannheim, where she performed Despina (Così fan tutte), Servilia (The clemenza di Tito), Venus (Ascanio in Alba), Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Sophie (Der Rosenkavalier), between others, under the direction of Hungarian conductor Adam Fischer.

Subsequently the engagement in the Passau troupe allowed him the evolution towards the repertory lyrico-spinto with roles such as Tatjana (Eugene Onegin), Contessa (Le nozze di Figaro) or Desdemona (Otello).
Since then she has worked as a freelancer mainly in Germany and in Eastern Europe and her repertoire has been enriched by roles ranging from lyrico-spinto to more dramatic roles such as Mimì (La bohème), Elvira (Ernani), Genoveva (Genoveva, R. Schumann), and more recently Ada (Die Feen, Wagner), Abigaille (Nabucco, Verdi) and Leonore (Fidelio Beethoven), roles in which she started with great success under the baton of Vinicius Kattah rising orchestra.

She also makes radio recordings of works by Shostakovich, Schönberg and Mahler in close collaboration with the SWR.

Since 2006, Frédérique Friess teaches at the Stuttgart Musikhochschule, an activity she pursues with as much commitment as passion.

Frédérique Friess

Je m'inscris

Soprano

La soprano française Frédérique Friess a étudié le chant au Conservatoire National de sa ville natale, Strasbourg ; au Conservatoire Supérieur de Musique et d’Art Dramatique de
Stuttgart (dans les classes de Luisa Bosabalian, puis Dunja Vejzovic) ; au Mozarteum de
Salzbourg (Lied avec Hartmut Höll) et au Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi de Milan en Italie (Classe de Rita Orlandi-Malaspina). Elle a suivi les masterclass de Regina Resnik, Brigitte Fassbaender, Thomas Moser et Hilde Zadek.

Frédérique Friess est Lauréate de nombreux concours Internationaux : 1er Prix du Concours International pour l’Art Lyrique de Pavia (Italie), demi-finaliste du très renommé Concours International Reine Elisabeth à Bruxelles, du Concours Hugo Wolf à Stuttgart, bénéficiaire de la bourse du Cercle Richard Wagner et du Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi de Milan.

Elle a fait ses débuts à la Junge Oper de Stuttgart puis a été engagée à la Staatsoper de
Hambourg (tout d’abord en tant que jeune artiste à l’Opéra-Studio International puis en
invitée), où elle a débuté entre autres dans les rôles de Papagena puis Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Barbarina (Le Nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Frasquita (Carmen), Gianetta (L’elisir d’amore), Gretel (Hänsel und Gretel), Marie (Zar und Zimmermann), Jungfer Marianne Leitmtzerin (Der Rosenkavalier) et chanté sous la direction de nombreux chefs renommés tels Ingo Metzmacher, Cornelius Meister, Alfred Eschwé, Philippe Auguin et Patrick Davin notamment.
Sa carrière s’est poursuivie au Nationaltheater de Mannheim, où elle a interprété Despina (Così fan tutte), Servilia (La clemenza di Tito), Venus (Ascanio in Alba), Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Sophie (Der Rosenkavalier), entre autres, sous la direction principalement du grand chef d’orchestre hongrois Adam Fischer.

Par la suite l’engagement dans la troupe de Passau lui a permis l’évolution vers le répertoire
lyrico-spinto avec des rôles tels que Tatjana (Eugène Onéguine), la Contessa (Le nozze di Figaro) ou Desdemona (Otello).
Depuis lors elle travaille en free-lance principalement en Allemagne et dans les pays de l’Est et son répertoire s’est enrichi de rôles allant du lyrico-spinto aux rôles plus dramatiques tels Mimì (La bohème), Elvira (Ernani), Genoveva (Genoveva, R. Schumann), et plus récemment Ada (Die Feen, Wagner), Abigaille (Nabucco, Verdi) et Leonore (Fidelio Beethoven), rôles dans lesquels elle a débuté avec grand succès sous la baguette de Vinicius Kattah jeune chef d’orchestre montant.

Elle réalise également des enregistrements radiophoniques d’œuvres de Chostakovitch, de Schönberg et de Mahler en étroite collaboration avec la SWR.

Depuis 2006, Frédérique Friess enseigne à la Musikhochschule de Stuttgart, une activité qu’elle poursuit avec autant d’engagement que de passion.