Asya Fateyeva

Session 1
Official websiteRegister online

asya-fateyeva“A sensation for the music world” the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung raved after one of Asya Fateyeva’s concerts. The young classical saxophonist, winner of the Best Newcomer ECHO Klassik 2016, is an outstanding representative in her field. In 2014 she was the first woman to reach the final of the prestigious Adolphe Sax International Competition in Belgium, where she played herself into third place.

That same year the musicologist Dr Harald Eggebrecht wrote about her in the Süddeutsche Zeitung: “[She] plays the alto saxophone so elegantly and effortlessly that the beauty of the sound she conjures up in Debussy’s Rhapsody for Saxophone and Piano beguiles her listeners.”

Asya Fateyeva, born on the Crimean peninsula in 1990, has a wide repertoire which includes original works written for her instrument, as well as Baroque, Classical and Romantic pieces which she often arranges herself. Fateyeva has set herself the goal of seeing the classical saxophone gain its rightful place in the music world. Now a resident of Hamburg, she began teaching Classical Saxophone at the Musikhochschule Münster in 2014.

The list of Asya Fateyeva’s awards and scholarships is long. As well as coming third in the Adolphe Sax International Competition in 2014, she won numerous first prizes in international competitions in Russia, France and Germany. She also won the German Music Competition in 2012 and, among other awards, received the ZEIT Foundation’s Gerd Bucerius Scholarship and an award from the Orpheum Foundation. In 2015 Asya Fateyeva received the Berenberg Culture Award, endowed with 10,000 euros. Professor Hermann Rauhe, a Member of the Board of Trustees, praised her, saying: “Asya Fateyeva has exceptional talent and stands out from other musicians on account of her warm, elegant playing.”

In the 2015/16 season alone Asya Fateyeva was invited to play concerts in numerous famous concert halls, including in the Gewandhaus in Leipzig (together with the MDR Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kristjan Järvi), in the Berliner Philharmonie, the Konzerthaus Berlin and the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg. She also played at the Lucerne Festival.

Further highlights have included performances with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra conducted by Vladimir Fedoseyev in the Musikverein Vienna, with the Tchaikovsky Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Ukrainian National Philharmonic, the Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra and the Giuseppe Verdi Symphony Orchestra of Milan. She has also played with orchestras from Bochum, Bonn, Frankfurt an der Oder and Kassel. Her concerts at festivals in Colmar, Fermo, Cologne, Moscow and St Petersburg, at the Mecklenburg-Western Pomeranian Festival and the Music Festival Spannungen in Heimbach struck a chord with many.

As winner of the first prize at the German Music Competition in 2012, Asya Fateyeva recorded her debut album of works by Mishat, Ibert (for alto saxophone and orchestra), Albright and Decruck (for alto saxophone and piano) in 2015. The project was funded by the German Music Council in cooperation with Deutschlandradio. She won the Best Newcomer ECHO Klassik 2016 award for this CD, which was released under the Genuin classics label.

Asya Fateyeva went on to record the CD Fantasia in 2016 together with the clarinettist Sabine Meyer and the Alliage Quintet. It was released by Sony Classic.

The daughter of a professional footballer, Asya Fateyeva began taking piano lessons with Valentina Nikishina at the age of six. It was Lilija Russanova, her teacher from the age of ten in Simferopol, who gave her an understanding of the French saxophone tradition. Later, she was taught by Professor Margarita Shaposhnikova at the famous Gnessin Institute in Moscow, and took master classes in Gap, France. Asya Fateyeva moved to Germany in 2004. At the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln she was first taught as a junior student by Professor Daniel Gauthier for two years before progressing to her regular course of studies in the French Canadian’s class. Study trips to France, where she was taught by Claude Delangle in Paris and Jean-Denis Michat in Lyons, provided crucial creative inspiration. In 2016 she successfully completed a postgraduate degree in chamber music with her duo partner, the pianist Valeriya Myrosh, at the Hamburg School of Music and Theatre, where her teacher was Professor Niklas Schmidt.

Asya Fateyeva

Session 1
Site officielJe m'inscris

asya-fateyeva« Une sensation pour le monde de la musique », s’émerveille le quotidien Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung à la suite d’un concert d’Asya Fateyeva. La saxophoniste classique de la nouvelle génération, récompensée en 2016 par l’EchoKlassik dans la catégorie « Jeune artiste de l’année », fait partie des meilleurs interprètes de sa discipline. Elle sera en 2014 la première femme à arriver en finale du fameux concours international Adolphe Sax en Belgique, s’assurant la 3e place.

La même année, le musicologue Harald Eggebrecht écrivit à son propos dans le journal Süddeutsche Zeitung : « Le jeu de la jeune Asya Fateyeva au saxophone alto est tellement élégant et tellement souverain, que tous sont enivrés par la beauté de la sonorité qu’elle fait naître dans la Rhapsodie pour saxophone et piano de Debussy. »

Asya Fateyeva, née en 1990 en Crimée, se consacre en tant que saxophoniste classique à un vaste répertoire. Outre des œuvres originales pour son instrument, elle interprète aussi des œuvres des périodes baroque, classique et romantique, dont les arrangements sont souvent signés par la jeune musicienne. Doter le saxophone classique d’une place plus privilégiée dans la vie musicale est un objectif que s’est fixé Asya Fateyeva.

Asya Fateyeva vit à Hambourg, et elle est également depuis 2014 professeur de saxophone classique à la Musikhochschule de Münster.

La liste de ses récompenses et de ses bourses est longue. Outre le 3e prix au Concours international Adolphe Sax de 2014, Asya Fateyeva a remporté de nombreux premiers prix lors de concours internationaux en Russie, en France et en Allemagne. Elle est lauréate du Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2012, a reçu entre autres la bourse d’encouragement Gerd Bucerius de la Fondation ZEIT, ainsi que de la Fondation Orpheum. En 2015, Asya Fatayeva a reçu le Prix de la culture Berenberg, doté de 10 000 euros. Le professeur Hermann Rauhe, membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation, fit des éloges dans les termes suivants : « Asya Fateyeva est un talent d’exception et séduit par son jeu chaleureux et élégant. »

Rien qu’en 2015-2016, Asya Fateyeva a répondu et répond à des invitations à des concerts dans de nombreux théâtres réputés, parmi lesquels le Leipziger Gewandhaus avec l’Orchestre symphonique du MDR sous la baguette de Kristjan Järvi, le Festival de Lucerne et à la Philharmonie de Berlin, au Berliner Konzerthaus et au Théâtre Mariinsky de Saint-Pétersbourg.

D’autres jalons de ses activités de concertiste ont été jusqu’ici ses passages sur scène avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Vienne sous la direction de Vladimir Fedoseyev au Musikverein de Vienne, avec l’orchestre symphonique Tchaïkovski de la radio de Moscou, l’orchestre national d’Ukraine, l’orchestre symphonique d’État d’Istanbul et l’Orchestre symphonique Giuseppe Verdi de Milan. Elle s’est également produite avec les orchestres de Bochum, Bonn, Francfort/Oder et Kassel. Ses concerts lors des festivals à Colmar, Fermo, Cologne, Moscou et Saint-Pétersbourg ainsi qu’au cours de ceux de Mecklembourg-Poméranie-Occidentale et « Spannungen » à Heimbach (Eifel) ont connu une grande résonance.

Soutenue par le Deutscher Musikrat, notamment en tant que lauréate du Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2012, et en coopération avec Deutschlandradio, elle a enregistré en 2015 sous le label Genuin Classics son premier CD avec des œuvres de Mishat, Ibert (pour saxophone alto et orchestre), Albright et Decruck (pour saxophone alto et piano), CD qui a été récompensé en 2016 par l’EchoKlassik pour « Jeune artiste de l’année ».

Avec la clarinettiste Sabine Meyer et l’Alliage Quintett, elle a en outre enregistré le CD Fantasia, paru en 2016 sous le label Sony Classics.

Asya Fateyeva, née en 1990 en Crimée, est la fille d’un footballeur professionnel. À six ans, elle a tout d’abord reçu des leçons de piano auprès de Valentina Nikishina, puis, à l’âge de dix ans, Lilija Russanowa lui fit découvrir la tradition de l’école de saxophone française à Simferopol. S’ensuivirent des études auprès du professeur Margarita Shaposhnikova à l’Académie russe de musique Gnessine à Moscou, des master classes à Gap, et pour finir, le déménagement en Allemagne en 2004. À la Hochschule für Musik und Tanz de Cologne, où elle a tout d’abord suivi les cours de Daniel Gauthier en tant que jeune étudiante, Asya Fateyeva s’est inscrite à l’âge de 17 ans dans la classe de l’illustre Canadien français pour suivre un cursus régulier. Des séjours d’études en France, entre autres auprès de Claude Delangle à Paris et de Jean-Denis Michat à Lyon, lui ont fourni d’autres sources d’inspiration importantes. Avec sa partenaire de duo, la pianiste Valeriya Myrosh, elle a achevé avec succès en 2016 à la Hochschule für Musik und Theater de Hambourg des études de perfectionnement en musique de chambre auprès de Niklas Schmidt.