MusicaltaAcademyTeachersMarie Hallynck
Marie Hallynck
Professional biography of Marie Hallynck
Marie Hallynck

A marvelous sound, moving and sensitive, a virtuosity just like the emotion…" (Salzburger Nachrichten)

"A personality of the very first plan, generous, subtle, deep" (le Monde)

Marie Hallynck is one of the most sought-after cellists of her generation.

As an accomplished soloist, she has benn invited already to perform with some forty Belgian and foreign orchestras. She has appeared with musicians as renowned as Vadim Repin, Martha Argerich, Cédric Tiberghien, Alexandre Tharaud, Gérard Caussé, the Prazak Quartet, Alexandre Melnikov, Bruno Pasquier, Isabelle Faust, Misha Maisky, Renaud Capuçon, etc.

Marie Hallynck started her cello studies in Tournai before working in Paris with Reine Flachot and then taking advanced classes with Janos Starker in USA and Natalia Gutman at the Musikhochschule in Stuttgart.

With honorary diplomas from the Mozarteum in Salzburg and the Accademia Chigiana in Sienna, she became, in 1993, a laureate of the Fondation Belge de la Vocation, and in 1996 a laureate of the Juventus Association. She is also a laureate of the Emile Bernheim Foundation.

In 2001 the association of European concert halls chose her as a ‘Rising Star’ and the following year, the Union of the Belgian musical press named her ‘Soloist of the year’.

Among her many recordings should be mentioned the concertos of Vieuxtemps and Jongen with the Belgian National Orchestra, her disc-recital released by Harmonia Mundi with Cédric Tiberghien, as well as her participation in a disc devoted to Shostakovich for Alpha.

In parallel with her activity as a concert artist, Marie Hallynck is Professor at the Royal Brussels Music Conservatory where she has been teaching since the age of 19. She is also invited as a jury member to the next International Competition ARD in Münich.

Marie Hallynck plays on a 1717 cello by the Venetian manufacturer Matteo Goffriller. Updated: October 2006

Musicalta -- Musicalta Website - Copyright © 2008  Musicalta